Making Alfombras during Semana Santa

I’ve read that the city of Antigua is the biggest tourist attraction in the world during “Semana Santa” which is the Holy Week of Christianity.  Antigua is a very Catholic city while only having a population around 40,000, it has at least 6 enormous and beautiful churches.  It seems odd to have 6 enormous churches in a small city area-wise of only 40,000 people, but most of them are reconstructions of old churches back from the 1700’s when Antigua was not only the capital of Guatemala, but the largest city in Central America.

            So, why is it such a big tourist attraction this week?  Aside from the general beauty of the town, every Sunday during Lent, one church has a “procesion” which is a huge parade that goes through the part of the city near that church.  The parade is enormous, with hundreds of people, a large band, and giant religious floats (carried by 20+ people often) of icons like the angel appearing to Mary, Jesus carrying the cross, etc.  All the people that live on the path of the procession make these “alfombras” which are beautiful decorations on the street out of their choice of colored sawdust, plants, vegetables, and/or flowers.  The procession then walks over the alfombras and it gets immediately swept up haha.  Other Spanish cities and countries have processions during Lent, but during Semana Santa in Antigua, there is not only a procession on the Sundays, not only every single day of the week, but MULTIPLE processions every day of the week.  There was a big one that started at 5am today and goes until 3pm.  There are others today starting at 2pm and 4pm.

            Building these alfombras is no easy task – you can see in the pictures above that they are incredibly elaborate and they take many hours to construct.  Yesterday was a procession of La Iglesia de San Francisco which is right near my house.  So I headed out of my house at like 9am yesterday and saw them constructing alfombras as close as right outside my door.  I happened to see a couple people I know checking them out and taking pictures and asked if I wanted to come along.  So I did, we walked maybe 1 short block until I saw 3 people I know helping make an alfombra for a nearby family.  I thought that was pretty cool and they asked if I wanted to help.  I was pretty pumped about getting to help (while incredibly nervous I’d ruin the whole thing) so I did and helped for about 3-4 hours save a half hour break to run a couple errands, which were my only original intentions for the day.  It required a good amount of careful, detailed work, but was a lot of fun too.  Some people were coming and going helping and I’d say it took probably 20 people more or less to do the whole thing with a lot of tourists taking pictures during.  My entire time there, I only worked on half of the entire alfombra with a group of 7-10 people or so.  OK, I’ve got a ton of pictures included with captions and that will pretty much tell most of the story itself while being way more interesting.  All I’ve got left to say is that you’re no longer the only artist in the family, Chrissy!! 

 

6 Responses to “Making Alfombras during Semana Santa”

  1. SHmeee!!! Says:

    Those are awesome Billy! Looks and sounds like your having a blast!!!

    PS. Several of those hits on your blog could have been me. I sat there refreshing my screen during lunch, yelling at it wondering why no new post were up!!! Peace for now, look forward to the next one.

  2. mindy Says:

    Hi Billy,
    Sounds like you had a great time surfing. I’m sure you’ll get better each time. Thanks for the pics of Semanta Santa processions y la alfombras – que bonita pero mucho trabajo para un tiempo poquito. I check in all the time to see if you’ve updated your blog – living vicariously though you and your adventures. Glad you’re having such a good time and doing such good work. Que bueno gringo! Hasta la vista,
    Mindy

  3. website Says:

    I believe one of your ads initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well need to put that on your blacklist.

  4. via Says:

    Whenever I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a comment is added I receive four messages with the exact same comment.

  5. direct sales jewelry Says:

    Do you might have a spam concern on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; we have developed some nice methods and were searching to exchange options with other folks, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  6. wow cd keys Says:

    Do youve a spam issue on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your scenario; weve created some nice approaches and were looking to trade options with other individuals, be positive to shoot me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

Comments are closed.